Why Mail.app bundle was so necessary

Dear PGP Corporation,

You are telling us to forget about the mail bundle and move to the proxy method.

Why do you keep missing a very simple but important point?

The bundle is necessary. It allowed us users to manually encrypt and decrypt messages. We saw for our eyes that without clicking on the Decrypt button, the message remained locked.

I’m not in your industry. But I do happen to have studied computer science. I’m yet to figure out how to setup proxy. I hate that.

I hate much more the fact that it is transparent to the user.

You are the high priests of security.

Why can’t you see that perception of security for us users is as important as the reality of it.

Also, I hate that your proxy wants me to cancel SSL connections. I will never connect to my e-mail server without using SSL.

What if PGP Engine is stuck? What will happen then? Will my e-mail stop working? Will my messages and passwords fly in the clear?

How can you in good conscience ask us to trust you with the proxy method without explaining fully how it works?

I will not use PGP until you get your act together. Mac GPG is doing fine so far.

2 Responses to “Why Mail.app bundle was so necessary”


  1. 1 Idetrorce December 16, 2007 at 12:57 am

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    – editor

    OK, what part do you not agree with?

  2. 2 Tracy Kannarr October 31, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I completely agree that the bundle is necessary.

    Add another simple point: If PGP is handing the email to the mail.app as clear text, that means that the data is not secure on your computer.

    Tracy


Leave a Reply

